No dedicated nomad visa. The figures below describe what the row records; there may be nothing to apply for right now. Always check the official page before acting.
The requirements
- Programme status
- No dedicated nomad visa
- Minimum monthly income
- No fixed amount
- Required savings
- None
- Annual total
- No fixed amount
- Initial duration
- Temporary residence up to 12 months on the ordinary grounds
- Family allowed
- Not stated
- Apply online
- Not stated
No figure in the state rules. A EUR 2,000/month pilot in the Federation is reported by secondary sources and could not be confirmed.
How this figure is set: The law asks for "sufficient means" and sets no figure.
Income confidence: low · checked 2026-09-12
Legal basis: Law on Foreigners of Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Service for Foreigners' Affairs' published grounds for temporary residence, none of which is remote work. The reported Federation pilot is recorded in the notes rather than in a figure, because a threshold this site cannot source is exactly the thing data rule 1 exists to keep out of the column.
Does this lead to permanent residence?
No pathway. Temporary residence on the ordinary grounds; no nomad status exists to carry years over from.
Pathway confidence: unverified
Not yet checked against this country’s permanent-residence rules.
Where it is
Sarajevo sits at 43.86° N, 18.41° E.
Open in Google Maps ↗A map of Sarajevo. This is the only link here that leaves the site.
Your position is worked out on this device. Nothing is sent anywhere.
Time zone
- UTC+2 Sarajevo (Europe/Sarajevo)
The country
- Region
- Europe · Balkans
- Capital
- Sarajevo
- Currency
- BAM
- Schengen area
- No
Next door
Bosnia and Herzegovina shares a land border with these.
- CroatiaOpen$3,985 / mo
- MontenegroOpenno fixed amount
- SerbiaNo visa—
What it costs to live there
$600 per person, per month. That is what one resident of Bosnia and Herzegovina spends in an average month with housing included — not what a newcomer renting at market rates will spend, which is higher, and furthest above it in the cheapest countries.
- Sarajevo
- $756 / month incl. rent
of which rent $258
City figures are crowdsourced from livingcost.net, not official: one person's monthly spending plus the rent of a one-bedroom flat outside the centre. They are here because a national average cannot show the spread between a capital and the places people actually move to. Checked 2026-09-20.
Cost of living confidence: high · checked 2026-09-20World Bank national accounts, reference year 2025: households and NPISHs final consumption expenditure (NE.CON.PRVT.CD, current US$) divided by population (SP.POP.TOTL) and by twelve. This is what one resident spends in an average month with housing included, since national accounts count the imputed rent of owner-occupiers. It is an average over the whole population, not a visitor's budget, so a newly arrived remote worker renting at market rates will spend more - see the city figures for what that looks like.
Languages
- Bosnian official
- Croatian official
- Serbian official
- English widely spoken
Shares of the population from Unicode CLDR: official, then anything spoken by a quarter of the country, an eighth, or a fiftieth. It answers "will I be understood", not "how good is their English".
How to apply
There is no live application for Bosnia and Herzegovina in this dataset. What the row records about residence: Temporary residence on the ordinary grounds; no nomad status exists to carry years over from.
Service for Foreigners' Affairs ↗
The state-level Law on Foreigners and its rulebooks carry no digital nomad category; temporary residence runs through employment, company ownership, family, property or study. Several secondary sources describe a 2024 remote-worker pilot in the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina asking EUR 2,000 a month, and others state flatly that no nomad visa exists. The two cannot both be right and neither could be settled against an official source, so the row records no figure and says why - which is the honest state of it, not a gap nobody looked at.
A starting point, not advice. Figures are converted to US dollars at open-market rates; official thresholds are set in local currency. Sources: official source ↗. Data checked . Compiled by Junaid Qadir.