No dedicated nomad visa. The figures below describe what the row records; there may be nothing to apply for right now. Always check the official page before acting.
The requirements
- Programme status
- No dedicated nomad visa
- Minimum monthly income
- No fixed amount
- Required savings
- None
- Annual total
- No fixed amount
- Initial duration
- Up to 3 years on the entrepreneur route
- Family allowed
- Not stated
- Apply online
- Not stated
No statutory figure. The entrepreneur route asks you to support yourself; the amounts quoted by agencies are their own.
How this figure is set: The law asks for "sufficient means" and sets no figure.
Income confidence: low · checked 2026-09-12
Legal basis: Law on Foreigners (Zakon o strancima) provides temporary residence on the ground of self-employment; no remote-work or digital nomad ground exists in it. No statutory income figure for this ground could be found, and the widely quoted EUR 3,500/month appears only in immigration-agency marketing. Low confidence: the absence is read from the categories the Ministry of Interior publishes rather than from a statement that remote work is excluded.
Does this lead to permanent residence?
Indirect pathway. Temporary residence years count toward permanent residence in Serbia, but on the entrepreneur ground rather than any nomad status.
Pathway confidence: unverified
Not yet checked against this country’s permanent-residence rules.
Where it is
Belgrade sits at 44.79° N, 20.45° E.
Open in Google Maps ↗A map of Belgrade. This is the only link here that leaves the site.
Your position is worked out on this device. Nothing is sent anywhere.
Time zone
- UTC+2 Belgrade (Europe/Belgrade)
The country
- Region
- Europe · Balkans
- Capital
- Belgrade
- Currency
- RSD
- Schengen area
- No
Next door
5 of the 8 countries Serbia shares a land border with are covered here.
- BulgariaOpen$2,668 / mo
- CroatiaOpen$3,985 / mo
- HungaryOpen$3,300 / mo
- MontenegroOpenno fixed amount
- RomaniaOpen$6,050 / mo
What it costs to live there
$794 per person, per month. That is what one resident of Serbia spends in an average month with housing included — not what a newcomer renting at market rates will spend, which is higher, and furthest above it in the cheapest countries.
- Belgrade
- $960 / month incl. rent
of which rent $409
City figures are crowdsourced from livingcost.net, not official: one person's monthly spending plus the rent of a one-bedroom flat outside the centre. They are here because a national average cannot show the spread between a capital and the places people actually move to. Checked 2026-09-20.
Cost of living confidence: high · checked 2026-09-20World Bank national accounts, reference year 2025: households and NPISHs final consumption expenditure (NE.CON.PRVT.CD, current US$) divided by population (SP.POP.TOTL) and by twelve. This is what one resident spends in an average month with housing included, since national accounts count the imputed rent of owner-occupiers. It is an average over the whole population, not a visitor's budget, so a newly arrived remote worker renting at market rates will spend more - see the city figures for what that looks like.
Languages
- Serbian official
- Albanian common in cities
- Hungarian limited
- Romanian limited
Shares of the population from Unicode CLDR: official, then anything spoken by a quarter of the country, an eighth, or a fiftieth. It answers "will I be understood", not "how good is their English".
How to apply
There is no live application for Serbia in this dataset. What the row records about residence: Temporary residence years count toward permanent residence in Serbia, but on the entrepreneur ground rather than any nomad status.
No dedicated nomad permit. What people actually do is register as a preduzetnik - a sole trader, usually on the flat-rate pausal tax - and then apply for temporary residence on the ground of self-employment. That is a business registration, not a remote-work permit, and it makes you a Serbian taxpayer with Serbian clients permitted. Figures between EUR 1,000 and EUR 3,500 a month circulate; none of them is in the law, which is why this row carries none.
A starting point, not advice. Figures are converted to US dollars at open-market rates; official thresholds are set in local currency. Sources: official source ↗. Data checked . Compiled by Junaid Qadir.