Announced but never opened. The figures below describe what the row records; there may be nothing to apply for right now. Always check the official page before acting.
The requirements
- Programme status
- Announced but never opened
- Minimum monthly income
- No income minimum
- Required savings
- None
- Annual total
- No minimum
- Initial duration
- Nothing to apply for; ASAN e-visa is 30 days
- Family allowed
- Not stated
- Apply online
- Not stated
No published threshold: the programme does not exist yet.
How this figure is set: No income test at all. The wording on the source is: no published threshold (no programme)
.
Income confidence: medium · checked 2026-09-18
Legal basis: Presidential order (sərəncam) of 20 August 2026 approving the State Programme for the Development of Tourism in the Republic of Azerbaijan for 2026-2030, president.az/az/articles/view/73306. The order itself carries only the approval and the instructions to the Cabinet of Ministers; the digital-traveller visa sits in the attached programme, and its establishment is reported by the state news agencies Trend and APA on the day of signing. No income figure, duration, fee or eligibility rule has been published, and the Migration Code has to be amended before the subtype can exist.
Does this lead to permanent residence?
No pathway. No nomad status exists to carry years over from; ordinary temporary residence is the only route.
Pathway confidence: unverified
Not yet checked against this country’s permanent-residence rules.
Where it is
Baku sits at 40.41° N, 49.87° E.
Open in Google Maps ↗A map of Baku. This is the only link here that leaves the site.
Your position is worked out on this device. Nothing is sent anywhere.
Time zone
- UTC+4 Baku (Asia/Baku)
The country
- Region
- Caucasus
- Capital
- Baku
- Currency
- AZN
- Schengen area
- No
Next door
2 of the 4 countries Azerbaijan shares a land border with are covered here.
What it costs to live there
$367 per person, per month. That is what one resident of Azerbaijan spends in an average month with housing included — not what a newcomer renting at market rates will spend, which is higher, and furthest above it in the cheapest countries.
- Baku
- $638 / month incl. rent
of which rent $215
City figures are crowdsourced from livingcost.net, not official: one person's monthly spending plus the rent of a one-bedroom flat outside the centre. They are here because a national average cannot show the spread between a capital and the places people actually move to. Checked 2026-09-20.
Cost of living confidence: high · checked 2026-09-20World Bank national accounts, reference year 2025: households and NPISHs final consumption expenditure (NE.CON.PRVT.CD, current US$) divided by population (SP.POP.TOTL) and by twelve. This is what one resident spends in an average month with housing included, since national accounts count the imputed rent of owner-occupiers. It is an average over the whole population, not a visitor's budget, so a newly arrived remote worker renting at market rates will spend more - see the city figures for what that looks like.
Languages
- Azerbaijani official
- Talysh common in cities
Shares of the population from Unicode CLDR: official, then anything spoken by a quarter of the country, an eighth, or a fiftieth. It answers "will I be understood", not "how good is their English".
How to apply
There is no live application for Azerbaijan in this dataset. What the row records about residence: No nomad status exists to carry years over from; ordinary temporary residence is the only route.
Presidential order approving the tourism programme ↗
Announced, not enacted. The 2026-2030 tourism programme the president approved on 20 August 2026 says a "rəqəmsal səyyah" (digital traveller) visa subtype will be established; it does not say when, what it will cost, how long it will run or who may hold it. The Migration Code has to be amended first, and secondary reporting puts an electronic launch at 2027 or 2028. Until then a remote worker's options are the 30-day ASAN e-visa or temporary residence on the ordinary grounds, neither of which permits working for a local employer.
A starting point, not advice. Figures are converted to US dollars at open-market rates; official thresholds are set in local currency. Sources: official source ↗. Data checked . Compiled by Junaid Qadir.