Announced but never opened. The figures below describe what the row records; there may be nothing to apply for right now. Always check the official page before acting.
The requirements
- Programme status
- Announced but never opened
- Minimum monthly income
- No income minimum
- Required savings
- None
- Annual total
- No minimum
- Initial duration
- Up to 365 days once regulated
- Family allowed
- Not stated
- Apply online
- Not stated
No requirements published.
How this figure is set: No income test at all. The wording on the source is: no requirements published
.
Income confidence: medium · checked 2026-09-07
Legal basis: Decreto Legislativo 1582 (amending DL 1350) — implementing regulation never issued.
Does this lead to permanent residence?
Direct pathway. Nomad category still unregulated; ordinary rentista status gives PR after 3 yrs.
Migraciones' own 20-Nov-2023 press release says the nomad quality (DL 1582) 'empezara a otorgarse una vez que se reglamente'; a search of migraciones.gob.pe news/normas through Sep 2026 found no reglamento since published, so the category remains not operational (directly confirms the site's 'not launched' status). Per the task's instruction, the PR answer describes the ordinary status such a remote worker actually holds: Residente Rentista under DL 1350 (Ley de Migraciones) art 29(l) (indefinite permanence for foreign-source income), which converts to Calidad Migratoria Permanente after 3 years as legal resident per art 29(m) — read directly from DL 1350's text (congreso.gob.pe). Whether ordinary remote-work salary qualifies as 'renta permanente' under the DS 007-2017-IN reglamento's income-threshold article could not be confirmed (only the enabling decree page was reachable, not the annex) — that piece is inference, not confirmed.
Pathway confidence: medium · checked 2026-09-07
Where it is
Lima sits at 12.05° S, 77.04° W.
Open in Google Maps ↗A map of Lima. This is the only link here that leaves the site.
Your position is worked out on this device. Nothing is sent anywhere.
Time zone
- UTC−5 Lima (America/Lima)
The country
- Region
- Americas · South America
- Capital
- Lima
- Currency
- PEN
Next door
3 of the 5 countries Peru shares a land border with are covered here.
What it costs to live there
$472 per person, per month. That is what one resident of Peru spends in an average month with housing included — not what a newcomer renting at market rates will spend, which is higher, and furthest above it in the cheapest countries.
- Lima
- $915 / month incl. rent
of which rent $462 - Arequipa
- $647 / month incl. rent
of which rent $242
City figures are crowdsourced from livingcost.net, not official: one person's monthly spending plus the rent of a one-bedroom flat outside the centre. They are here because a national average cannot show the spread between a capital and the places people actually move to. Checked 2026-09-20.
Cost of living confidence: high · checked 2026-09-20World Bank national accounts, reference year 2025: households and NPISHs final consumption expenditure (NE.CON.PRVT.CD, current US$) divided by population (SP.POP.TOTL) and by twelve. This is what one resident spends in an average month with housing included, since national accounts count the imputed rent of owner-occupiers. It is an average over the whole population, not a visitor's budget, so a newly arrived remote worker renting at market rates will spend more - see the city figures for what that looks like.
Languages
- Spanish official
- Quechua official
Shares of the population from Unicode CLDR: official, then anything spoken by a quarter of the country, an eighth, or a fiftieth. It answers "will I be understood", not "how good is their English".
How to apply
There is no live application for Peru in this dataset. What the row records about residence: Nomad category still unregulated; ordinary rentista status gives PR after 3 yrs.
Created by law but never launched; nomads use 183-day tourist stay.
A starting point, not advice. Figures are converted to US dollars at open-market rates; official thresholds are set in local currency. Sources: official source ↗. Data checked . Compiled by Junaid Qadir.